Core Skills Training Framework Mandatory Training

core skills training framework mandatory training

The Core Skills Training Framework (CSTF) is a set of nationally agreed standards that outline the core skills and training requirements for health and social care staff in the UK. The Core Skills Training Framework is mandatory training in many healthcare settings. The framework was developed by Skills for Health and aims to provide consistency in training and ensure that all staff have the essential skills needed to deliver safe and effective care. Core Skills Training Framework mandatory training typically includes the following key components:

  1. Health and Safety – Training on workplace safety, including risk assessments, fire safety, manual handling, and how to prevent and respond to accidents.
  1. Infection Prevention and Control – Education on how to prevent and control infections, including hand hygiene, the use of personal protective equipment (PPE), and cleaning protocols.
  1. Equality, Diversity, and Human Rights – Training to ensure that staff understand and promote equality, value diversity, and respect the rights of individuals.
  1. Safeguarding Adults and Children – Guidance on how to identify and respond to signs of abuse or neglect and the procedures for safeguarding vulnerable adults and children.
  1. Basic Life Support – Instruction on cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) and other life-saving techniques.
  1. Information Governance and Data Protection – Education on the importance of maintaining confidentiality and protecting personal data.
  1. Conflict Resolution – Training on how to manage and resolve conflicts effectively and safely.
  1. Moving and Handling – Techniques for safely moving and handling individuals to prevent injury to both the carer and the person being cared for.
  1. Preventing Radicalisation – Training to understand the Prevent duty, which aims to safeguard individuals from being drawn into terrorism.
  1. Resuscitation – Training on the correct procedures for resuscitation, including the use of defibrillators.
  1. Fire Safety – Procedures and protocols to follow in the event of a fire, including the use of fire extinguishers and evacuation routes.

These training components ensure that all health and social care staff have a baseline level of competence in these critical areas, promoting a safe and effective care environment. By adhering to the CSTF standards, care providers can be confident that their staff are equipped with the necessary skills to perform their roles safely and effectively.

Where is Core Skills Training Framework Mandatory Training Required?​

CSTF (Core Skills Training Framework) training is mandated across various sectors within the health and social care domains in the UK. This training is designed to establish a standardised baseline of essential skills and knowledge required for safe and effective care delivery. It is requisite for professionals working in hospitals, care homes, home care services, GP practices, community health services, mental health services, ambulance services, private healthcare providers, dental practices, as well as voluntary and charity organisations. These professionals encompass doctors, nurses, allied health professionals, support staff, carers, home carers, support workers, GPs, practice nurses, administrative staff, community nurses, health visitors, mental health professionals, paramedics, dental professionals, and volunteers. The aim is to ensure consistent adherence to safety and care standards across diverse healthcare settings, ultimately enhancing the quality and safety of care provision.

How is the Core Skills Training Framework Different to the Care Certificate?

The Core Skills Training Framework mandatory training and the Care Certificate course serve distinct purposes in enhancing the skills and knowledge of healthcare and social care professionals.

The CSTF provides standardised training covering core skills and competencies essential for all staff across diverse healthcare and social care settings. It addresses topics such as health and safety, infection prevention and control, safeguarding, and basic life support. CSTF training is often mandated by employers or regulatory bodies within the sector and may be required for employment or maintaining professional registration. The training is delivered through modules or courses, with varying durations and formats.

In contrast, the Care Certificate is designed for new health and social care workers entering the sector or transitioning into new roles. It focuses on foundational skills and knowledge necessary for providing high-quality care and support. The Care Certificate course consists of 15 standards with accompanying learning outcomes and assessment criteria and is typically completed within 12 weeks. While not mandatory, many care providers adopt the Care Certificate as part of their onboarding process to ensure consistency and quality in training.

While both initiatives aim to improve skills and knowledge, the CSTF targets a broader audience and covers a wider range of topics, while the Care Certificate is specifically tailored for new entrants to the sector. Both the Care Certificate and CSTF can be applied to care settings and healthcare settings alike, but the Care Certificate is more relevant to care while CSTF applies better to healthcare settings like NHS hospitals.

More Articles

Mate Crime in Care

Mate Crime in Care

Mate crime involves the exploitation or abuse of vulnerable individuals by those they consider friends. It can manifest in various forms, such as financial exploitation,

Read More »
Shopping Cart